My Re-education by Lauryn Hill @ Rock the Bells

The name Lauryn Hill was synonymous with greatness, this simply cannot be denied. Her music was a part of all of our lives, or at least those of us old enough and lucky enough to remember her intense, short-lived fiery burst of fame. Her 1998 solo debut album The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill was a smash hit and was subsequently what rocketed her into super stardom. Looking back, I realize that she could have been a mogul, she could have had an empire and sold us all shit with her name on it like most artists do but instead she faded out of the spot light and into obscurity. Yesterday I saw her perform for the first time in my life, it was unreal. She sang the same songs I remembered from so long ago but her arrangements had changed, I stared in awe of the hypnotic caress of her commanding and powerful voice. She spit each word out with conviction as though it were a sermon and I am pretty sure that was the closest thing to a religious experience I have ever had. Her songs seemed to be aware of the time that’s passed, they have changed but still remained the same, just like all of us have grown and evolved over the last 10 or so years since she’s been gone. Yet the timelessness of Lauryn Hill lies in the relevance of her lyrics. Her songs are about things that we as humans all share, like falling in love, or falling out of love, having a child, or moving away from the past and into the future. They maintained their essence but still evoked a new sentiment, they reminded me of the past and made me aware of the present; it’s been a journey for everyone. Yesterday as I watched her float like a Goddess from one side of the stage to the other, I realized how time has ravaged me, how different I am today than I was when I first heard her songs and looking around at the crowd… I realized I wasn’t the only one.

This entry was posted in Opinion by Yvettita. Bookmark the permalink.

About Yvettita

"I am my own god. We are here to unlearn the teachings of the church, state, and our educational system. We are here to drink beer. We are here to kill war. We are here to laugh at the odds and live our lives so well that Death will tremble to take us"- Charles Bukowski

2 thoughts on “My Re-education by Lauryn Hill @ Rock the Bells

  1. Pingback: Rock The Bells, lines, lines and more lines… « Zebra Is Food

  2. Pingback: More Like WTF Fest. « Zebra Is Food

Leave a Reply

