Beast(ie) with that mic (RIP MCA)

Image

courtesy of my good friend over at DA

We all have our Beastie Boys memories, at least those of us born in the late 70’s, early 80’s. I remember thinking they were somewhat done being relevant when I was in high school, and then they dropped Hello Nasty when I was in the 10th grade. It was more than relevant, it was intrepid, it was bumped in my mini disc player at a time when I was addicted to OutKast and Tupac, it was a pleasure to be reminded that I had listened to hip hop for a while, something to be proud of. Adam Yauch died of cancer today, he was 47. RIP sir, you were a worthy harbinger of all things good.

Image

One thought on “Beast(ie) with that mic (RIP MCA)

  1. Well said brah…. I was lucky enough to have seen them live in the early 90’s on their license to ill tour… RIP MCA/ADAM/Nathaniel, you’ll be sorely missed!!

Leave a Reply

