Steely Chan

When this project hit the ZIF box I was immediately doubtful about it’s merit, as I usually am with so-called “mashups”. I see music fusion en par with fusion food; a lot of hype surrounding a combination of genres forced upon the world by unqualified chemists. Even the name, Steely Chan, was a blend I approached with caution. What caught my attention were the artists used in the mashup, a series of certified hip hop artists, uncompromising ones at that, all of whom were to be fused with the raw funk sound of Dutch outfit, Lefties Soul Connection. Random to say the least, but my interest was piqued and I hit the all important download button. Here’s my favorite tracks from their project titled Left of the Golden Era. 

Props Over Bam Bam (Steely Chan’s Blender Mash)

Shook Ones Chop It (Steely Chan’s Blender Mash)

How Many Welly Wanging MCs (Steely Chan’s Blender Mash)

This Canadian production duo has earned my trust with this release, enter with caution if you like, but you shall leave unscathed, this is fusion worth a listen. Plus Canadians are virtually harmless, we all know that. Download the mixtape free of charge.

One thought on “Steely Chan

  1. Pingback: Mashing Is Easy (Listening) |

Leave a Reply

